It’s not me… It’s you!

Standard
It’s not me… It’s you!

Dear Coffee,

I don’t know where to begin, this is the hardest thing I’ve had to do in a long time.  First I want you to know how much I love you, you’ve been in my life now for 18 years, that’s more then half my lifetime!  I write this letter because I’m afraid I can’t hangout with you anymore.  You know that I’ve been working really hard at improving my life and my health and I feel that you aren’t being very supportive of that, you keep holding me back.  Yes I know that we’ve been very active together, going on morning hikes, bike rides, long walks, jogging, etc., but I can’t stand living with the feeling you give me day after day.

I can no longer continue to live with the stress, anxiety and nervous energy you leave me with.  Somewhere along our relationship you changed.  Perhaps it was in the 90’s when you started showing up everywhere with your elaborate garnishments.  Or maybe it was when you started hanging out with Hipsters and went organic.  I fondly look back at when we started hanging out at my first job, Java 33.  I was young and you were a lot less complex, life was easy.  Remember that time at Java 33 when the old man Morano came in without any teeth!  Those were to good ol’ days.

Everyone thinks I’m crazy for leaving you.  There’s still part of me that wakes up every morning thinking about you, my head aches knowing you won’t be there.  You always made me and everyone around you feel energized and young.  I fear that our relationship has been a lie, if I knew our relationship would end up here I would have had to reconsider things a long time ago… but we were young and crazy back then.

I have no doubt that you will continue to thrive and have a long life, and I’m certain we will run into each other from time to time.  I hope the best for you.

Good Bye,

Rachel

One response »

  1. Yep. This pretty well sums up my relationship with caffeine. Ugh. How I will miss it..but you’re right: things have CHANGED! It no longer makes me feel like it used to and for that, it must go. My yellowing teeth will probably appreciate our breakup too. Here’s to health!

Leave a Reply

